Gluten Free Grapevine - Gluten Free Tips - GF Advice
gluten free tips Gluten Free Tips

Gluten Free Tips & Information for Living a Gluten Free Life.

2 of 31pages
Celiac Disease Testing
View/Add Comments (0 Comments) | Add to Favorites (0 Favorites)


For those that have Celiac Disease, it can be a long and painful road before finally receiving a proper diagnosis.

The process used by most physicians:

Several blood tests are used to screen for antibodies commonly present in individuals with Celiac Disease.

As of Feb. 10th, 2011, Quest Diagnostics lists the following tests as part of it's Celiac Panel:

> Tissue Transglutaminase (tTG) Antibody, IgA

> Gliadin Antibody, IgA

> Total IgA

> Endomysial Antibody (EMA) Screen, IgA- performed (at additional charge) when the anti-tTG IgA is positive

> EMA Titer-performed (at additional charge) when the EMA screen is positive

> tTG Antibody, IgG-performed (at additional charge) when total IgA is low

A positive result in one or more of these will likely lead to a recommendation for an Upper Gastrointestinal endoscopy.

Submitted on Feb 11, 2014

Counseling For Celiac Disease
View/Add Comments (0 Comments) | Add to Favorites (0 Favorites)

Counseling for Celiac Disease varies greatly from provider to provider. If you are receiving counseling from a hospital or similar setting, you likely will be offered some form of nutritional guidance in addition to the advice provided by your physician.

Support groups exist in some communities and at some Celiac centers. How frequent they meet varies and this can be an issue for some families or individuals.

Submitted on Feb 11, 2014

Gluten Free Preparedness
View/Add Comments (0 Comments) | Add to Favorites (0 Favorites)


Keep a list of gluten-free restaurants and gluten-free chef cards in your car, backpack or purse. It also is a good idea to have some snacks that don't easily spoil. Replace these as needed. Braden, our 9-year-old son, gets really hungry out of nowhere and that can lead to a little bit of grouchiness. (Or a lot!) It's is always so much better to have GF pretzels or some other snack on hand rather

Submitted on Feb 11, 2014

Gluten Free Ice Cream and Popsicles
View/Add Comments (0 Comments) | Add to Favorites (0 Favorites)


When I was first diagnosed with Celiac Disease, I had lost weight and was advised by my dietician to eat "a big bowl of ice cream" every night. I've got no problem with that!

With warmer weather approaching, it's a great time to figure out exactly what frozen treat options are available to the gluten free nation. Here is the information I have come up with so far, and I'll update this as I hear back from more frozen treat producers.

Ben and Jerry's

Ben and Jerry's will list gluten if it is present.

Submitted on Feb 11, 2014

McCormick Single Spices and Extracts
View/Add Comments (0 Comments) | Add to Favorites (0 Favorites)


McCormick single spices and herbs are all gluten free. Their extracts, including their Pure Vanilla Extract, are also gluten free.

Here is the statement from their website:

None of our single ingredient spices and herbs contain gluten.

Submitted on Feb 11, 2014

2 of 31pages

Join Gluten Free Grapevine

Become a member of Gluten Free Grapevine today to meet and share tips with other people living a gluten free life -- or caring for someone on the gluten free diet! Membership is FREE and takes 1 minute!

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Read tips, travel advice, restaurant info and more.