Gluten Free Grapevine - Gluten Free Tips - GF Advice
gluten free tips Gluten Free Tips

Gluten Free Tips & Information for Living a Gluten Free Life.

30 of 31pages
What is Celiac Disease?
View/Add Comments (0 Comments) | Add to Favorites (0 Favorites)

Celiac Disease is defined by the National Institutes of Health as follows:

Broadly:

Celiac disease is an immune reaction to gluten, a protein found in wheat, rye, and barley. It is estimated that 1% of all Americans suffer from the disease, though many have not been diagnosed and have never received treatment.

More specifically:

Celiac disease is an immune reaction to gluten, a protein found in wheat, rye, and barley.

Submitted on Feb 10, 2011

How to Find Hidden Gluten on Food Labels
View/Add Comments (0 Comments) | Add to Favorites (0 Favorites)

It's important that we are very careful when we read labels. Yes, we are looking for wheat, rye, barley and (contaminated) oats.

But, some food companies like to print other names for wheat in their products, which describe different forms of wheat, wheat products and stages of wheat process

Submitted on Feb 24, 2011

Sticky Fingers Bakery Gluten Free Meyer Lemon Scones
View/Add Comments (0 Comments) | Add to Favorites (0 Favorites)

Sticky-Fingers-Bakery-Gluten-Free-Meyer-Lemon-Scones

These gluten free scones were the most delicious gluten free baked good I've ever made. I don't even love scones, but these were amazing. I even had someone who doesn't eat gluten free taste them and she loved them -- couldn't tell that they were gluten free. And, they are sooo easy to make!

Submitted on Jan 29, 2013

Pirate's Booty
View/Add Comments (0 Comments) | Add to Favorites (0 Favorites)

Trader Joe's Dark Chocolate Mints
View/Add Comments (0 Comments) | Add to Favorites (0 Favorites)

Trader-Joes-Dark-Chocolate-Mints

Trader Joe's Dark Chocolate Mints are made without any gluten ingredients. They are like a classic chocolate after dinner mint. The label reads that they are "Mints with a Crunchy White Candy Shell and Pure Peppermint Center." These are excellent and I highly recommend them!

THESE CONTAIN MILK, SOY AND MAY CONTAIN TRACES OF PEANUTS AND OTHER TREE NUTS

Here is Trader Joe's list of products with (Continue Reading)

Submitted on Feb 15, 2013

30 of 31pages

Join Gluten Free Grapevine

Become a member of Gluten Free Grapevine today to meet and share tips with other people living a gluten free life -- or caring for someone on the gluten free diet! Membership is FREE and takes 1 minute!

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Read tips, travel advice, restaurant info and more.