Here is a list for those who have just been diagnosed and want to run out and get the basics. This will be a living document that will be revised over time as needed.
Remember that Gluten is a protein (actually a group of proteins) found primarily in WHEAT, RYE and BARLEY. OATS are also usually contaminated and should not be consumed unless they are specially produced, transported and processed GLUTEN FREE OATS.
Gluten may also be labeled as the following on food products: Einkorn, emmer, spelt, kamut Wheat starch, wheat bran, wheat germ, cracked wheat, hydrolyzed wheat protein, semolina, durum, Kamut, Khorasan Wheat, Malt or Barley Malt.
If you are not sure, follow the age old adage: "When in doubt, leave it out."
True Labeling: This means that the company that produces these food items asserts that everything that is in the food is on the list of ingredients, or that this is at least the case for any and all potential allergens and foods that are the root cause of a food sensitivity.
All eggs in their natural state (i.e. inside the shell) are gluten free
All fruits & vegetables in their natural state are gluten free - This does not include grains! This does not include canned or jarred produce. This means the fresh stuff you find in the produce section.
All cow's milk in its natural state is gluten free. Contact your local milk provider to ensure that any additives they add are free of gluten.
All fresh meats in their natural state are gluten free, unless they become cross-contaminated.
Butter & Other Spreads
Land o Lakes Butter - Salted and Unsalted Butter, Margarine & Table Spreads - NOT LIGHT BUTTER!
Oils & Vinegars
Wesson Oils – All
Gluten Free Bread
Udi's Gluten Free Breads
Peanut Butter & Jelly
Skippy Peanut Butters - Check labels to verify no gluten containing ingredients per Con Agra's policy
Peter Pan Peanut Butters - Made without ingredients containing gluten
Polaner All Fruit Jellies - Check the label near ingredients - It should say "Gluten Free"
Welch's Jelly, Jams & Spreads (ALL)
Rice Chex, Cinnamon Chex, Apple Cinnamon Chex, Corn Chex, Honey Nut Chex, Chocolate Chex Nature's Path Whole O's
Bob's Redmill Gluten Free Oats (Make sure it says "Gluten Free" on label, they also produce oats that are not gluten free)
Gluten Free Bisquick - NOT THE SAME AS REGULAR BISQUICK - You are looking for a mostly ORANGE box that clearly states "Gluten Free" in brown letters underneath "Bisquick" in blue letters.
Ocean Spray Beverages - All
Chock Full o'nuts Coffee
Chips & Snacks
Cape Cod Potato Chips
From Frito Lay's Website
BAKED! LAY'S® Original Potato Crisps
Kinnikinnick's Line of Gluten Free Cookies (Chocolate Chip, K'Kritters, S'Moreables, K-Toos, etc.) Will clearly say Gluten Free on the packages)
***** Please remember that you must decide for yourself what you are comfortable calling “gluten free.” There are a lot of individual factors that go into making this decision, so this list should not be viewed as an endorsement or certification of the products as being “gluten free.”
Submitted on Jul 23, 2012 - Category: Gluten Free Foods