Gluten Free Grapevine - ConAgra's Gluten Free Products - Gluten Free Tip

ConAgra's Gluten Free Products
View/Add Comments (0 Comments) | Add to Favorites (0 Favorites)

I called ConAgra today (March 1, 2011), because the ConAgra Gluten Statement on it's website gave the impression that they have no gluten free products. This is not the case according to their customer service representative.

I am still waiting to hear back from them regarding Hunt's Ketchup, as their customer service representative did not have information regarding whether or not it contains gluten. There is also some confusion about their Spaghetti/Pasta Sauces, so I am avoiding those for the time being. I will update this tip when more information is provided.

ConAgra's Toll Free Numbers are for each brand, not for ConAgra in general, but I simply selected one from the list and the customer service representative I spoke to (Kelly) was able to answer questions about all their brands. She is sending me an email with answers to questions she was unable to answer.

The rep told me the following:

If any of their products contain gluten (wheat, rye, barley or oats), then they will include it on their label. It was unclear if Barley, Rye or Oats will be included in their "contains" statement following the list of ingredients, but if any of these are part of an individual ingredient such as "natural flavor," it will be listed in parenthesis after that individual ingredient. Wheat will be listed in its "contains" statement after the list of ingredients.

The rep also said that they follow "strict and stringent" cleaning processes, and if they feel there is any risk of cross-contamination, they will note that on the label.

These are the ConAgra products that they consider to be Gluten free:

All varieties of Swiss Miss Cocoa

All varieties of Swiss Miss Puddings are gluten free EXCEPT their Tapioca flavors

All varieties of Snack Pack EXCEPT their Tapioca flavors

Hebrew National - All varieties EXCEPT franks in a blanket

Wesson Oils - All

Peter Pan Peanut Butters - All

Act II Popcorn - All

Orville Redenbacher's Popcorn - All ready-to-pop popcorn in jars or for microwave - (Please note that Crunch and Munch, Poppycock and all other products that are not ready-to-pop popcorn are NOT GLUTEN FREE).

Table spreads - Parkay, Blue Bonnet, Fleischmann's and Move Over Butter - All

David's Seeds - All

Hunts tomatoes - Fresh Packed Whole Tomatoes and Diced Varieties - All

Hunt's Tomato Pastes - the rep said their spaghetti sauces are not gluten free, but in checking their website I only see pasta sauces. I will update this after she writes back to me. In the interim, I will not use any of their tomato products other than the whole and diced tomatoes and their pastes.

Reddi Wip - All

Please remember that you must decide for yourself what you are comfortable calling "gluten free." There are a lot of individual factors that go into making this decision, so this list should not be viewed as an endorsement or certification of ConAgra's products as being "gluten free."

Submitted on Mar 01, 2011 - Category: Gluten Free Foods

Submitted By
admingfgadmingfg
ABOUT ME
I am the founder of Gluten Free Grapevine. I enjoy sharing gluten free tips and restaurant advice with others on a gf diet. I have been eating gluten free since 2009, when I was diagnosed with Celiac Disease.

Comments

Sign In or Sign Up to reply

Join Gluten Free Grapevine

Become a member of Gluten Free Grapevine today to meet and share tips with other people living a gluten free life -- or caring for someone on the gluten free diet! Membership is FREE and takes 1 minute!

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Read tips, travel advice, restaurant info and more.